Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Personal Support Specialist (PSS) Training October 2026

October 7, 2026 - 9:00 AM - October 14, 2026 - 5:00 PM
$350.00

Personal Support Specialist (PSS) Training

PSS curriculum has been approved by the State of Maine Division of Licensing and Certification.

Course Overview: The Personal Support Specialist (PSS) training is designed for unlicensed entry-level workers. This course is designed to meet the criteria of educational needs of the PSS in the State of Maine. This training program is designed to teach the foundational skills, knowledge, and values needed by staff in the health care fields. This course will introduce many subjects that apply to a range of work situations. An unlicensed, direct service worker can assist people in the community and in health care settings who require a wide range of services, skills, and support. Successful completion of this course qualifies an individual to provide direct support to Consumers in a variety of settings as authorized by Statute and Rule. The individual who completes this program will be issued a Personal Support Specialist Certificate from the State of Maine Division of Licensing and Certification.

Course Topics include: Assisting clients with Activities of Daily Living (ADLs) and Instrumental Activities of Daily Living (IADLs) like bathing, meals, mobility, and home support.

*Please note – this is a 5 day classroom setting and 1 day of live skills/testing.  Please note all dates – October 7, 8, 9, 12, 13 (classroom) and October 14 live skills/test.

PSS Reciprocity/ Testing out Availability: SEE CALENDAR TO REGISTER

CNA: CNAs are qualified for a PSS Test Out if they are on the Maine CNA Registry, or if they hold a certificate of training from ME board-approved CNA program. Lapsed CNAs may also take a competency exam to become a qualified PSS without the PSS classroom training. This includes the written PSS exam (80% or better to pass) & a score of 100% on the PSS clinical skills demonstration.

DSP: DSPs may test out of PSS classroom training if 1) they have a current Maine DSP certification, 2) take the PSS exam and receive an 80% or better, 3) attend and pass with a 100% score on the PSS clinical skills demonstration.

50-hour course (40 classroom and 10 skills/lab hours).

Lifetime Certification

The class is subject to cancellation if minimum numbers are not met.

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available

Details

  • Start: October 7, 2026 - 9:00 AM
  • End: October 14, 2026 - 5:00 PM
  • Cost: $350.00
  • Event Category:

Organizer

Venue